Publications of the National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature
Browse by
About the NRCBL
The Ethics Library was established at the Kennedy Institute of Ethics in 1973 with funding from the Joseph P. Kennedy, Jr. Foundation to support research projects at the Institute, such as the first edition of the Encyclopedia of Bioethics and the NLM-sponsored compilation of the annual Bibliography of Bioethics and its counterpart database, BIOETHICSLINE.
In 1985 this growing information resource was awarded a competitive five year grant by the National Library of Medicine of the National Institutes of Health to become the National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature (NRCBL), dedicated to collecting and organizing the burgeoning bioethics literature, and providing reference services. The original grant was extended for three years, and eventually converted to an NLM contract that continued through 2009.
Publications by series:
- Bibliography of Bioethics
- Encyclopedia of Bioethics
- Bioethical Issues: Scope Notes Archive
- New Titles in Bioethics
You may leave feedback regarding this collection at the Bioethics Research Library's Publications of the NRCBL page.
Most Recent Submissions
-
National Reference Center for Bioethics Literature Library Classification Scheme
(Georgetown University, 2001-12)This documents contains a categorized list of the keywords used by the National Center for Bioethics Literature that were used in order to index bioethics literature. It is placed here as a historical document to show the ... -
Encyclopedia of Bioethics Prospectus
(Kennedy Institute of Ethics, Georgetown University, 1977)Some of the recent advances in biomedical technology have created specific ethical dilemmas, such as those related to the prolongation of life and the allocation of scarce medical resources. Other developments have raised ... -
Encyclopedia of Bioethics Volume 4
(The Free Press, 1978)The Encyclopedia of Bioethics is the first encyclopedia in its field. Its purpose is to synthesize, analyze, and compare the positions taken on the problems of bioethics, in the past as well as in the present, to indicate ... -
Encyclopedia of Bioethics Volume 3
(The Free Press, 1978)The Encyclopedia of Bioethics is the first encyclopedia in its field. Its purpose is to synthesize, analyze, and compare the positions taken on the problems of bioethics, in the past as well as in the present, to indicate ... -
Encyclopedia of Bioethics Volume 2
(The Free Press, 1978)The Encyclopedia of Bioethics is the first encyclopedia in its field. Its purpose is to synthesize, analyze, and compare the positions taken on the problems of bioethics, in the past as well as in the present, to indicate ...
RSS 1.0